Detroit Tigers legends Jack Morris, Alan Trammell passed up for Hall-of-Fame again


Credit: Rick Osentoski-USA TODAY Sports

Jack Morris and Alan Trammell were once again shutout of inclusion in the Baseball Hall of Fame.

In the voting results announced just after 2 p.m. on Wednesday, Morris received 61.5 percent of the vote (dropping from 67.7 percent a year ago) on his 15th and final ballot while Trammell received just over 20 percent (plunging from 33.6 percent in 2013). Lou Whitaker has been ineligible since he received only five percent of the vote in his one and only appearance on the ballot in 2001.

Those elected to the 2014 class include Greg Maddux (97.2 percent of the vote), Tom Glavine (91.9 percent) and Frank Thomas (83.7 percent).

Morris is now ineligible to be enshrined via the writers’ vote. Trammell has one more year of eligiblity in 2015, but his vote total doesn’t seem likely to jump to the required 75 percent to gain eligibility.

This means Morris, Trammell and Whitaker must wait until the Veteran’s Committee meets again in 2016 for their next opportunity to gain entry into Cooperstown.

While we at Motor City Bengals are disappointed that the voters have again turned their noses up at the Detroit Tigers and their Hall-of-Fame-caliber players, we congratulate the well-earned inductions of Maddux, Glavine, and Thomas.