Motor City Bengals’ Cy Young Awards: Felix Hernandez and Clayton Kershaw


Today we continue our staff selections for the major MLB awards for 2014. Monday we selected the Rookie of the Year and yesterday we picked our choice for Manager of the Year in each league. Today, we select our choices for the American League and National League Cy Young Award.

More from Detroit Tigers News

Seven MCB staffers picked their top three in each category (though they could choose to name just one or two). Each player finishing first on a writer’s ballot was assigned three points, those finishing in second place received two points, and those in third received one point.

Keep in mind, just like the vote that will be revealed today by MLB for the Cy Young Awards, these awards were selected based on regular season performances.

We also picked our selection for the Cy Young winner if it was just selected for the Tigers.

AL Cy Young: Felix Hernandez

Motor City Bengals staffers were very split on this award and the American League Cy Young award was one of the most competitive votes we conducted.

With 18 points, the Mariners’ Felix Hernandez barely edged the Indians’ Corey Kluber‘s 15 points to earn the honor. Hernandez received four first place votes to Kluber’s three first place votes.

Also receiving votes was Chicago’s Chris Sale with eight points and the reigning Cy Young winner and current? Detroit Tiger Max Scherzer receiving one vote.

NL Cy Young: Clayton Kershaw

In the polar opposite of the American League race, the National League Cy Young winner was an easy choice. Clayton Kershaw‘s amazing regular season made him an easy and unanimous choice of MCB staffers, receiving 21 points and all seven first place votes. Also received votes were Johnny Cueto (10 points), Adam Wainwright (9 points), and World Series hero Madison Baumgarner (2 points).

Tigers Cy Young: Max Scherzer

Max’s selection was unanimous among staffers.

We will wrap up our 2014 Awards Coverage as we reveal Motor City Bengals pick for each league’s Most Valuable Player award.