Detroit Tigers vs Minnesota Twins Game 34 Preview, TV, Lineup


Detroit Tigers (20-13) vs Minnesota Twins (18-15) – 7:08 PM ET

Comerica Park – Detroit, MI


Radio: 97.1 The Ticket (click for affiliates)

Weather: 56 degrees, clear

More from Motor City Bengals

Game Preview

The Detroit Tigers and Minnesota Twins will renew their rivalry for the second matchup of a three-game set this week. Detroit needs to win the series to avoid losing sole possession of second place in the America League Central.

Both the Tigers and Twins are chasing the Kansas City Royals in the division standings. The Royals possess the best record in the AL.

When We Last Met

Minnesota has won nine of its last 12 games but still has been unable to solve its Detroit Tigers problem. Detroit beat Minnesota on Monday, 2-1, in 10 innings. The Tigers are 6-1 versus the Twins this season.

In the first three games between the two clubs, Detroit has outscored Minnesota, 22-1, but it has been much closer since then. In the last four games, the Tigers have outscored the Twins, 19-15.

Pitching Matchup

Left-hander Kyle Lobstein will take the bump for Detroit on Wednesday. Surprisingly, he leads the team in ERA at 3.00. He is also 3-2 with a 1.30 WHIP and 15 strikeouts in 33 innings.

Righty Ricky Nolaso will start for the Twins. He has spent some time on the disabled list and has not pitched well this season. Nolasco is 2-1 with a 9.00 ERA, 2.00 WHIP, seven strikeouts and six walks in 13 innings.

He started on April 8 versus the Tigers and allowed six runs on six hits in just three innings. Nolasco went on the disabled list shortly after that start.

Lobstein has not made a start against the Twins this season.

Tigers Lineup

1. Anthony Gose CF
2. Ian Kinsler 2B
3. Miguel Cabrera 1B
4. Victor Martinez DH
5. J.D. Martinez RF
6. Yoenis Cespedes LF
7. Nick Castellanos 3B
8. James McCann C
9. Jose Iglesias SS

Twins Lineup

1. Brian Dozier 2B
2. Torii Hunter RF
3. Joe Mauer 1B
4. Trevor Plouffe 3B
5. Kurt Suzuki C
6. Eddie Rosario LF
7. Eduardo Escobar DH
8. Aaron Hicks CF
9. Danny Santana SS